Month: April 2010

  • My point... Albeit a long point!

    I have an obligation to say whatever I want, whenever I want, anytime I want, and I don't give a damn what anyone says!  The beauty of the internet is that you have a right to self-publication and free-speech.  Of course there are limits like any medium in the world, but for the most part you have the right to make your opinions known.  Unfortunately this type of medium has a habit of getting you in a whole heap of trouble, because it takes away your inhibitions so easily.  You tend to forget that you have to answer to your employer, acquaintances, friends, parents, or other relatives. (if applicable)  I find that kind of restriction very binding.  You also seem to forget that you have no real privacy on the internet.  Do we really have freedom of speech?  We have pain in the ass people, busy bodies if you will, that think it is their mission in life to make other people miserable.  Yes that's right, miserable!  They think that they can say all that they want about you in a public forum, and then walk away without any rebuttal whatsoever.  Then, when someone says one thing that pretty much encapsulates (depending on their opinion) who they are as a person, they go ballistic!  You'd think that one line was an entire smear campaign exclusively designed to ruin their character entirely.  Now while I think that's hysterical, I still think that utterly wrong!  Those who know what I am writing about will know what I mean.  In order to make this person seem like the victim, which I assure you was not the case, he/she made this woeful exit speech off this message board that we happened to both frequent.  Now I assure you, this wasn't the end of the ridiculousness.  Being that the topic remained on the board, another supposedly new poster commented to the topic and remarked on how he/she felt this person had been "wronged" according to the words written in the topic.  Now here's the deal, was it wrong for the person who wrote that topic to have made mean and angry statements toward many other people?  Was it wrong for him to have done that?  Was that freedom of speech okay?  If it was, then it was okay for me to call him/her a knob and an asshole.  My point has been made.  Now that I have sufficiently rambled for a full paragraph and probably wasted your time, I will go back to nursing myself back to health and enjoying what's left of my Spring Break!  Thank you and have a lovely holiday weekend!