Month: June 2011

  • Xanga, My Long Lost Friend!

    Well... I think it's time to dust off the Xanga account and do some writing on here for a while.  I have pretty much abandoned my Facebook for the time being and this is something I haven't used in ages, so here we go.  Summertime is finally around the corner and the hot weather is already upon us.  Scorching is more the word I should use to describe the temperatures occurring over the last couple days.  I was watching the Weather Channel and the reports said over 100 degrees.  That's too hot for me to even venture toward the beach, because I couldn't even imagine the way the sand would burn your feet.  Summer also brings me back to school again.  I am taking two mathematics classes to round out my degree before I go for my teaching degree at Georgian Court University this Autumn.  It's not bad really, because it's only Wednesday evenings for five weeks.  It's the books that are going to cost me some bucks and I am paying out of pocket for the courses.  I'm not really going to any concerts this Summer, because I have gone to so many already this year.  I've decided to do as many outdoor activities as possible.  Those activities seem to cost the least amount of money depending on the destination.  I want to spend a great deal of time at the beach this year, hike through the trails at the park, and maybe go canoeing once this year.  I would, also, like to do as much reading and writing as humanly possible.  I have my other blog but, for the most part, I haven't felt the need to add to that one lately.  We'll see if that changes as time goes on.  I removed myself from Facebook, because I needed a change.  I still twitter, because it's not so much about video games and overt socializing.  I find that Twitter is more akin to links to articles and more pop culture, rather than a social network.  Because of that, I don't seem to feel as engrossed in it and it's less distracting on my phone and my computer.  People may think that I deleted them from their friends list but, oh well.  I want to get past some rough hurdles before I go back to it.

    I've done some pretty cool things over the last two semesters.  I was a college disc jockey!  I will miss this so much, because I won't be doing it anymore.  It was one of most fun experiences of my entire life.   I was a DJ on WOCC Viking Radio at Ocean County College.  It was the coolest thing ever.  I played all of my favorite music and even got a chance to do some fundraisers.  There were some really great people that I was lucky to meet and work with during that time.  I'll never forget it.  My name was Devilish Denise on the radio, which probably sounds like the corniest radio moniker ever, but I love it!   I finished most of my courses and I am nearly ready to graduate with my AA in English.  I can't wait to start my teaching degree.  I am going into special education and ESL for Kindergarten through Eighth Grade students.  Very exciting for me and hopefully everything will fall in its proper place.   I hope that everyone enjoys their Summer and the rest of their year!  Big hugs to you all laughing