October 6, 2008

  • In a society so obsessed with perfection, who are the women young girls should look up to?

    I think that girls should look to strong women role models.  Those women who make a distinct and valuable difference in life.  Young girls should buck the stereotype of the female appearance.  I think that it's sick that our culture makes an unhealthy standard for girls to follow.  Women were able to push past the domesticity requirement and have a choice for the way they want to live their life.  If women are smart enough to further careers or be stay-at-home mothers, why can't they reap the benefits of being a unique and secure women who pride themselves in being healthy individuals?  We have these nauseating beauty pageants that exploit women, or we have magazines like W and Vogue that convince the reader that they have to look a certain way in order to achieve success in life.  I think that is utter bullshit and it keeps a woman's self-esteem in the toilet.  Now I have to admit I read those publications.  Not for the way that women look body wise, but the style and artwork that goes into making a piece of couture.  Honestly, I think these girls look like skinny little boys with long hair, but that's my opinion.  I look at a piece of fashion, and try to find similar pieces (in my own size) that reflect the character of the ensemble I've viewed in the publication.  I don't look at the page and say, "Oh dear, I have to throw up some of my lunch so that I can fit the image of the girl in this ad."  That's sick and, frankly, a bit morbid.  It's stuff like that that keep eating disorder clinics open, therapists and psychiatrists employed, and twelve step programs in existence.  That may sound really mean and insensitive, but it's the truth.  I also think it can stem from the stress that someone's personal life or homelife entails.  It's all about control, and subsceptability to the image portrayed within the media or publication.  I may have run off topic, but I think my point is well made.  Look up to strong women like Nancy Pelosi or Sandra Day O'Connor.  Don't look to Kate Moss for your insight.   

    I just answered this Featured Question; you can answer it too!

Comments (3)

  • If you object to the message those magazines are putting out there, you should consider getting the information you do want elsewhere. Every person who buys those magazines is telling the publishers that, hey, this garbage makes money - and so they will keep publishing putting out that same bad message. At they very least, every time you buy one, send in a letter telling them to start sending a better message. You may have to use pseudonyms so they don't know it's just the same person every time. Or, make sure at least one other person writes a letter to them each time. As long as they get the idea.

  • I personally think that young girls should look up to the less noticed stars, the stars that don't always have their face shown in the public eye for a sex tape, or being unable to take care of their own kids because of a drug obsession. But some people find its hard to idolize those kinds of people, because those are the only ones you hear about in media.
    Also, not necessarily them, but simply women who are living their dream due to the hard work and intelligence that they used to achieve that desired goal.

  • It's hard for young girls to find good role models these days...shame.  And sad.....

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *